May 04, 2022

All U.S. Horses Clear to Compete at 2022 Badminton Horse Trials Following First Horse Inspection

By Meagan DeLisle - USEA Staff
Matthew Flynn and Wizzerd. EMS photo

Following the first horse inspection held on Wednesday at the Badminton Horse Trials, all seven horse and rider pairs hailing from the United States were accepted and are ready to move on with competition. Dressage day one kicks off on Thursday, May 5th at 9:30 a.m. BST / 4:30 a.m. EST and Lillian Heard riding LCC Barnaby will be the first rider from the states to compete at 11:18 a.m. BST/ 6:18 a.m. EST. The official ride times of all five of the riders representing the U.S. and the two international riders who are based full-time in the U.S. are as follows:

Thursday

  • Lillian Heard and LCC Barnaby: 11:18 a.m. BST/ 6:18 a.m. EST
  • Phillip Dutton and Z: 11:26 a.m. BST/ 6:26 a.m. EST
  • Tamie Smith and Mai Baum: 11:42 a.m. BST/ 6:43 a.m. EST
  • Ariel Grald and Leamore Master Plan: 12:06 p.m. BST/ 7:08 a.m. EST
  • Will Faudree and Mama's Magic Way: 3:48 p.m. BST/ 10:48 a.m. EST
  • Matthew Flynn and Wizzerd: 4:44 p.m. BST / 11:44 a.m. EST

Friday

  • Dominic Schramm and Bolytair B: 9:38 a.m. BST/ 4:38 a.m. EST
  • Karl Slezak and Fernhill Wishes: 9:46 a.m. BST/ 4:46 a.m. EST
  • Emily Hamel and Corvett: 2:56 p.m. BST/ 9:56 a.m. EST

Helpful Links

Don't forget to follow the USEA event coverage on social media!

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

May 26, 2022 Education

Rule Refresher: What Will Be Expected of Me at the Beginner Novice or Novice Level?

Preparing for your first horse trial and not sure what is expected of you at each level? Over the course of the next few Rule Refreshers, we will be diving into each level and the performance expectations of each phase. Want to better prepare yourself or your students for their first competition or a move-up? The USEA Eventing Handbook by the Levels is a free resource to all USEA members that outlines clear and consistent guidelines for riders and trainers to refer to when navigating their way through the competition levels. You can access this guide by logging into your online services account.

May 25, 2022 Profile

Now On Course: Handing Over The Reins

I’m not one for the spotlight. As the voice of the Association, you don’t need to know my personal views, political, eventing, or otherwise. So despite my byline appearing on thousands of articles on the USEA website and magazine, this is probably only the second time I’m writing about myself (the first was about my love for lessons, and reading it now makes me laugh as I am still 100% addicted). But as I am now just a USEA member I thought I would share a bit of my journey to add to our member spotlight series, Now on Course.

May 24, 2022 Education

Tips for Successful Haul-In Schooling

You’ve likely spent some time scouring the USEA Calendar to line up your 2022 competition schedule. Now that spring has sprung, it’s time to plan some cross-country schooling outings to make sure you and your horse are as ready as possible. If you own or manage a facility that welcomes guests for haul-in schooling, you’ve likely noticed horses and their humans showing up in droves to get their practice in. A successful off-site schooling day has many, many moving parts. From paperwork and payment to safety, these best practices for hosts and guests will help everything go as smoothly as possible.

May 23, 2022 Eventing News

US Equestrian Announces Land Rover U.S. Eventing Team for CHIO Aachen CCIO4*-S

US Equestrian is pleased to announce the Land Rover U.S. Eventing Team for the CHIO Aachen CCIO4*-S at CHIO Aachen World Equestrian Festival in Aachen, Germany, from July 1-2, 2022. The team will be led by Chef d’Equipe Bobby Costello.

Official Corporate Sponsors of the USEA

Official Joint Therapy Treatment of the USEA

Official Feed of the USEA

Official Saddle of the USEA

Official Real Estate Partner of the USEA

Official Equine Insurance of the USEA

Official Forage of the USEA

Official Supplement Feeding System of the USEA

Official Horse Clothing of the USEA

Official Outerwear of the USEA

Official Competition & Training Apparel of the USEA