

### MINUTES USEA Annual Meeting of Members

Diplomat Resort and Spa, Hollywood, Florida Saturday, December 10<sup>th</sup>, 2016

#### 1. Call to order (Pitts)

Diane Pitts began the meeting by inviting Tink Eichell to the podium to establish a quorum and approve the December 5, 2015 USEA Annual Meeting of Members minutes.

#### 2. Report of the Secretary (Eichell)

Tink Eichell established a quorum and asked the membership to approve the minutes of the Annual Membership Meeting held December 5, 2015.

#### <u>A motion was made and seconded to approve the December 5, 2015 minutes.</u> *The motion was passed. There were no oppositions, discussions or abstentions.*

## 3. Report of the President (Pitts)

Diane provided a summary of 2016 for the USEA. Highlights included the addition of the Gold Cup Signature Series, an increase in fundraising efforts, the new Eventing 2016-2026 Project Tracker, the continuation of the frangible pin technology study, the new USEA Event Companion App, the creation of the Volunteer Incentive Program (VIP), the continued work of the Cross-Country Design and Safety Task Force, the new curriculum for YEH trainers and the successes of the 2016 AEC.

#### 4. Report of the Treasurer (Thompson)

Morley Thompson provided a report of the financial health of the Association.

#### 5. Ratification of the Actions of the Board of Governors in 2016

Katherine Cooper explained the ratification process and called for a vote to ratify the actions of the Board.

#### A motion was made and seconded to ratify the actions of the board.

The motion was passed. There were no oppositions, discussions or abstentions.

#### 6. Report of the CEO (Burk)

Rob Burk began by introducing and thanking the USEA staff. Leslie Mintz was presented with a staff award for her 5 years of service with the Association. Diane presented the outgoing Area Chairs Kaiti Saunders - Area II (not present), Jane Barron- Area III and Christine Murphy- Area X with gifts of appreciation. Outgoing USEA Foundation Trustee Jerome Broussard and Board

of Governors members Sarah Broussard, Tremaine Cooper, Phyllis Dawson, Peter Gray, Mark Hart and Janet Horton (not present) were also recognized.

#### 7. Vote on USEA By-Law Changes (K. Cooper)

Katherine Cooper presented a change to Article 6 by adding a new #6 and #7.

#6 shall read: At any committee meeting, one-third of the committee members then in office shall constitute a quorum.

#7 shall read: When a quorum is present at any meeting, a majority of the votes cast shall decide any question unless otherwise provided by law, the Articles of Organization or these By-Laws.

# A motion was made and seconded to accept the change to Article 6 by adding a new #6 and #7.

The motion was passed. There were no oppositions, discussions or abstentions.

#### 8. Report of the Nominating Committee (K. Cooper)

Katherine Cooper announced the nominees for the Board of Governors who were then voted into office.

Area II - Morgan Rowsell, Three-year Term

Area VII - Janis Linnan, Three-year Term

Area X - Alice Sarno, Three-year Term

At-large – Darrin Mollett, Two-year Term

At-large – Jerry Schurink, Three-year Term

At-large – Max Corcoran, Three-year Term

At-large – Dr. Jennifer Miller, Three-year Term

The new trustees for the USEA Foundation Board were announced. Mark Hart, Diane Pitts and Jacqueline Mars were each elected for three-year terms.

The Governors took a brief recess to nominate officers. Carol Kozlowski presented the slate of officers which was then voted on and accepted by the entire membership.

Carol Kozlowski: President

Tink Eichell: Secretary

Morley Thompson, Jr.: Treasurer/ VP Administration and Finance

Mary Coldren: VP Safety

Leslie Law: VP Active Athletes

Jonathan Elliott: VP Competitions

Debra Dealcuaz: VP Area Affairs

Dawn Robbins: VP Membership & Program Development

Jerry Schurink: VP Education

#### 9. Adjournment (Kozlowski)

The meeting was adjourned at 1:00 pm.