

MINUTES USEA Annual Meeting of Members

The Westin Long Beach, Long Beach, California Saturday, December 9th, 2017

1. Call to order (Kozlowski)

Carol Kozlowski began the meeting by inviting Tink Eichell to the podium.

2. Report of the Secretary (Eichell)

Tink Eichell established a quorum and asked the membership to approve the minutes of the Annual Membership Meeting held December 10, 2016.

A motion was made and seconded to approve the December 10, 2016 minutes.

The motion was passed. There were no oppositions or abstentions.

3. Report of the President (Kozlowski)

Carol Kozlowski welcomed the membership, thanked Area VI for hosting the Annual Meeting and acknowledged the efforts of the USEA Board of Governors. She shared highlights of 2017 including the continuing development of the strategic plan and ongoing safety efforts of the Association. She welcomed the new U.S. Performance Director of Eventing, Erik Duvander.

4. Report of the Treasurer (Thompson)

Morley Thompson provided a report of the financial health of the Association.

5. Ratification of the Actions of the Board of Governors in 2016

Katherine Cooper explained the ratification process and called for a vote to ratify the actions of the Board.

A motion was made and seconded to ratify the actions of the Board.

The motion was passed. There were no oppositions, discussions or abstentions.

6. Report of the CEO (Burk)

Rob Burk began by introducing and thanking the USEA staff. He presented highlights of the year which included achievements of each of the USEA departments.

7. Recognition of Outgoing Volunteers

Carol Kozlowski honored several outgoing volunteers and presented them with gifts of appreciation.

USEA Foundation Chair- Kevin Baumgardner

Area I Chair- Hilary DeAngelis

Area V Chair- Siobhan O'Brien

Area VII Chair- John Meriwether

Area VIII Chair- Cathy Wieschhoff

Board of Governors- Katherine Cooper, Leslie Law and Rick Wallace

8. Report of the Nominating Committee (K. Cooper)

Katherine Cooper announced the nominees for the Board of Governors who were then voted into office.

Area I - John Bourgoin, Three-year Term

Area III - Sharon Anthony, Three-year Term

Area V - Debra Dealcuaz, Three-year Term

Area VIII- Morley Thompson. Three-year Term

At-large - Harold "Tink" Eichell, Three-year Term

At-large - Doug Payne, Three-year Term

At-large - John Staples, Three-year Term

A motion was made a seconded to accept the slate of Board of Governors nominees.

The motion was passed. There were no oppositions or abstentions.

Katherine introduced the nominee for Trustees of the USEA Foundation.

A motion was made a seconded to accept Brian Murray as a Trustee of the USEA Foundation.

The motion was passed. There were no oppositions or abstentions.

The Governors took a brief recess to nominate officers. Carol Kozlowski presented the slate of officers which was then voted on and accepted by the entire membership.

Carol Kozlowski: President

Tink Eichell: Secretary

Morley Thompson, Jr.: Treasurer/ VP Administration and Finance

Mary Coldren: VP Safety

Doug Payne: VP Active Athletes

Jonathan Elliott: VP Competitions

Debra Dealcuaz: VP Area Affairs

Dawn Robbins: VP Membership & Program Development

Jerry Schurink: VP Education

9. Adjournment (Kozlowski)

The meeting was adjourned at 1:00 pm.