

# MINUTES USEA Annual Meeting of Members

St. Louis, Missouri Saturday December 9, 2023

## 1. Call to Order (Leslie)

Lou Leslie began the meeting by inviting Sharon Anthony to the podium.

# 2. Secretary's Report (Anthony)

Sharon Anthony explained the system used for voting.

### A motion was made and seconded to approve the 2022 Meeting of Members minutes.

The motion was passed. There were no oppositions or abstentions.

## 3. President's Report (Leslie)

Lou Leslie welcomed everyone to St. Louis and highlighted achievements of the year.

## 4. Treasurer's Report (Murray)

Brian Murray reported on the declining trends seen in revenue, membership and starters throughout 2023. He highlighted that expenses remained flat compared to 2022. There have been fundamental changes to the USEA business model to establish financial stability.

#### 5. Ratification of the Actions of the Board

## A motion was made and seconded to ratify the 2023 actions of the Board of Governors.

The motion was passed. There were no oppositions or abstentions.

#### 6. CEO Report

Rob Burk spoke about the membership and starter trends from the past year. He recognized the USEA staff, honoring those who have achieved significant anniversary dates of employment.

#### 7. 2023 Governor's Cup

Lou Leslie presented the 2023 Governor's Cups, which provides recognition of volunteers whose service has contributed significantly to the sport to this year's recipients – John Bourgoin and Rebecca Brown, Loris Henry, Kathy Kerns, and Mark Andreasen.

## 8. 2023 Andrew H. Popiel Award

Lou Leslie presented the 2023 Andrew H. Popiel Award to Lena and Mark Warner.

#### 9. Presidential Lifetime Achievement Award

Lou Leslie presented the 2023 Presidential Lifetime Achievement Award to Sharon Gallagher and honored her retirement from 30 years dedicated to the USEA.

## 10. Thanked Outgoing Volunteers

Lou Leslie thanked outgoing Area Chairs – Area I: Suzanne Adams, Area III: Rick Dunkerton, Area V: Christie Tull, Area VII: Luigi Meneghelli, Area VIII: Elissa Gibbs.

## 11. Report from Nominating Committee (Wieschhoff)

Cathy Wieschhoff reviewed the 2024 nominating report and introduced the nominees for the Board of Governors.

Area I	Melanie Loschiavo	Three-year term
Area III	Shelley Howerton Page	Three-year term
At Large	Jacob Flecther	Three-year term
Area V	Siobhan O'Brien	Three-year term reappointment
Area VIII	Wayne Quarles	Three-year term reappointment
At Large	Lauren Nicholson	Three-year term reappointment

Cathy Wieschhoff introduced the Trustee nominees for the USEA Foundation to be appointed by the Board of Governors.

**Max Corcoran** Three-Year Term

Hilary Miskoe Three-Year Term Reappointment

The Board of Governors excused themselves for a brief recess to complete the vote.

Upon returning to the Meeting of Members, Cathy reported that the Board of Governors unanimously elected the USEA officers for 2024, as well as the trustees of the USEA Foundation.

Lou Leslie introduced the members of the 2024 Executive Committee.

Erin Tomson: Secretary Rusty Lowe: VP Safety

Sharyn Antico: VP Competitions

Molly Pelligrini: VP Administration and Finance

Brian Murray: Treasurer

Lauren Nicholson: VP Active Athletes

Deeda Randle: VP Area Affairs

John Marshall: VP Strategic Planning Jennifer Rousseau: VP Education

# 12. Adjournment (Leslie)

The meeting adjourned at 1:00pm Central.