NATIONAL HIGH SCOREAWARDS

RIDER OF THE YEAR

For the second year in a row, Bruce has won the Rider of the Year award. There is no rider who deserves it more. He has made all three of the horses he has competed with so successfully this year - Pilot Kid (Horse of the Year), J.J. Babu (USET Challenge Trophy), Doctor Peaches (AHSA Combined Training Trophy). Bruce is a great believer and champion of the American Thoroughbred as the all around athlete (equally able in all three disciplines) - who can accept the challenge of the "ultimate test of the horse" and emerge the victor. He has proved this before with Might Tango who was World Champion in Kentucky in 1978, and more recently with Beacon Charm who has had his share of blue ribbons including winning the CCI in Rome

Bruce is a sensitive rider who instills confidence in his young horses by starting them slowly as youngsters, and never overfacing them. He spends ample time schooling his young horses at home over a variety of small obstacles and taking time at the lower levels so they are mentally and physically prepared for bigger competition

Because of Bruce's keen insight into his horses' psyche they com pete in a happy frame of mind, and willingly give him 150%.

Bruce has the distinction of having won the World Championships twice, as well as being one of the best Three Day riders in the world. In 1974 he won Burghley on Irish Cap, and in 1978 he repeated his World Championship ride on Might Tango. Bruce started competing for the USET in 1972 and has been winning nationally and internationally ever since.

1983:

1st BRUCE DAVIDSON (229) 2nd Torrance Fleischmann (144) 3rd Karen Stives (138) 4th Derek di Grazia (131) 5th Phyllis Dawson (91) 6th Mike Huber (90) 7th Grant Schneidman (68) 8th Peter Green (62) 9th Ralph Hill (58) 10th Karen Lende (54)

1982 - Bruce Davidson 1981 - Karen Stives 1980 - Torrance Watkins

1979 - J. Michael Plumb 1978 - Mary Anne Tauskey

1977 - J. Michael Plumb 1976 - J. Michael Plumb 1975 - Bruce Davidson

1974 - J. Michael Plumb

1973 - J. Michael Plumb 1972 - Denny Emerson

1971 - J. Michael Plumb

1969 - M. Lockie Richards 1968 - Mason Phelps, Jr. 1967 - J. Michael Plumb 1966 - J. Michael Plumb 1965 - J. Michael Plumb 1964 - Miss Lee Troup

1970 - J. Michael Plumb

1963 - J. Gibson Semmes 1962 - Miss Suzanne Cove 1961 - Denis Glaccum 1960 - Denis Glaccum

THE WINDY ACRE FARM TROPHY Presented by Mr. & Mrs. Phillip B. Hofmann



Bruce Davidson and J. J. Babu

Wendy Constance

BRUCE DAVIDSON

HORSE OF THE YEAR



Pilot Kid and Bruce Davidson

THE CHRONICLE OF THE HORSE AWARD

Presented by Alexander Mackay-Smith

pilotkið

Pilot Kid is an extremely versatile horse, the kind and type that just about anyone would like to own. He is a gently, inquisitive and talented horse. At first he takes a bit of knowing, but after that he is very friendly and trusting. He's a lazy horse in the stable, but out hacking he's full of interest in the world about him, and at events quietly settles in to tackling the job ahead in a businesslike manner.

This 17 hand, eight year old gelding has all the qualities to make an international horse. He is sane, smart, and equally talented in all three disciplines. Pilot Kid was found by the well known Robert Tindle, who also unearthed Might Tango and Dr. Peaches out of the West for Bruce. Pilot's early years were spent on the racetrack and he did some hunting before starting his event career.

Pilot Kid is an uncomplicated horse who loves to be in on the act and generally enjoys doing whatever there is to do, and when not eventing, loves to hunt, show, or be turned out with his buddies. He will be one of Bruce's Long Listed horses for the Olympics this year.

1983:

1st PILOT KID (Mr. & Mrs. Bruce Davidson; Bruce Davidson)

2nd DOCTOR PEACHES (Mr. & Mrs. Bruce Davidson; Bruce Davidson) (72)

3rd SASQUATCH (Mrs. Linda Christensen; Derek di Grazia)

= 4th BEN ARTHUR (Mrs. Lillian Maloney; Karen Stives) (59)

= 4th GALOPAGUS (Mr. Karl R. Rohrer, Jr.; Karl R. Rohrer, Jr.)

6th SILENT PARTNER (Stonehenge Farm; Karen Stives & J. Michael Plumb) (58)

7th J.J. BABU (Mr. & Mrs. Bruce Davidson; Bruce Davidson)

8th SWALLOWTOWN (Bittersweet Farm; Torrance Fleischmann) (52)

9th GOLD CHIP (Tipasa Ranch Ltd.; Mike Huber) (51)

10th CURRAGH (Mrs. Ronald Marra; Torrance Fleischmann & Stacey Macklin) (50)

1982 - Arbour Hill (Karen Reuter)

1981 - Silent Partner (Karen Stives)

1980 - Poltroon (Torrance Watkins)

1979 - York (Denny Emerson)

1978 - Boy Alejo (Barbara Newton)

1977 - Laurenson (J. Michael Plumb) 1976 - Comic Relief (Caroline Treviranus)

1975 - Golden Griffin (Bruce Davidson)

1974 - St. Finnbarr (James Gornall)

1973 - Cajun (Caroline Treviranus)

1972 - Paddy (Carol Hannum)

1971 - Good Mixture (Kevin Freeman) 1970 - Royal Imp (Charlotte Robson)

1969 - M'Lord Connelly (J. Michael Plumb)

1968 - West Country (Mason Phelps, Jr.)

1967 - Thunder Road (Karen McLaughlin)

1966 - Evening Mail (Sara G. Lord)

1965 - Johnny O (J. Michael Plumb)

1964 - Whispering Sam (Lee Troup)

1963 - Duck Soup (J. Gibson Semmes)